top of page

Irving Matloff

In 1955, Irving Matloff and two of his friends formed the “Little Basketball League”.  The league was formed to promote participation and foster the values of good behavior, leadership and loyalty.  In 1959, the league became the Boys Basketball League, and the program was the model for other communities on Long Island.  Sportsmanship, tolerance and camaraderie were emphasized and self-esteem was important long before its later recognition.  The “rules” were often sent to towns like Bellmore, Massapequa, Wantagh and Islip, and to towns in New Jersey.

Mr. Matloff served as President, Commissioner and Treasurer.  He solicited sponsors, coordinated schedules and helped the league expand immensely.  He fostered an atmosphere where the well coordinated learned to play with those who were not natural athletes and vice versa.  He set the theme of equal playing time, competitive but tolerant play, and sportsmanship.  Fun, appreciation of others, participation and learning were the goals of the league.  Trophies and other awards were plentiful.  Irving died in 1996 in Nevada.  In his honor, and for the direction he and his peers provided during the early development of the league and its philosophy, we are proud to announce the winners of the Irving Matloff Award for Sportsmanship:

1996-1997:  Mike Douyon

1997-1998:  Joe Constantin

1998-1999:  Tim Shirmacher

1999-2000:  Timothy Mayer

2000-2001:  Dan Rooney

2001-2002:  Chris Rooney

2002-2003:  Michael Sullivan

2003-2004:  Mike Brown

2004-2005:  Ryan Wolff

2005-2006:  Steve Serling

2006-2007:  Timothy Magee

2007-2008:  Joseph Abrams

2008-2009:  Christopher Perryman

2009-2010:  Michael Bruno

2010-2011:  Michael Tighe 

2011-2012:  Michael Schuermann

2012-2013:  Jack Waxon

2013-2014:  Michael Nunziato

2014-2105:  John O'Shea 

2015-2016:  Joseph Casavecchia

2016-2017:  John Grandazza 

2017-2018:  Kieran Mooney

2018-2019:  Joseph Quirk

2019-2020:  Jake D. Murphy

2020-2021:  Pandemic 

2021-2022:  Cohb Ferrick

Sarah Gaffney

Tracey Anderson

Jacqueline Kelly

Colleen Thorp

Christine Abrams

Loreen Lawrence

Jacqueline Kelly

Laura Bruzzo/Meghan Kirrane

Victoria Palumbo

Kelly McNoble

Brittney Bannon

Jenna DiIorio

Melanie Franco

Kim Cracovaner

Olivia Paone

Katherine Arana

Alison Agogolia

Jessica Fredsall

Madeline Sautner

Maggie Basile

bottom of page